Icon Research.

I spent a whole hour searching for an eye-catching Icon set. I did find a lot of them but this one appealed to me the most:

http://www.premiumpixels.com/freebies/41-social-media-icons-png/

The reason I am attracted to these set of Icons is because they look very neat, organized and the colours are vibrant. They are small and easy to understand. These Icons are social media based.

I believe that the images displayed in the icons visually show what social media app it is, especially with the use of the logo itself.

To me, they seem like pixel icons, especially with the thin boarder around the squares. The set is identical because of the size and the contrast/ vibrancy of the colours used, I do find that the colours are a bit lighter then the original social media logo’s. They are very bright and eye-popping. I can see that these icon’s are not a copy and paste of the logo’s, and that’s what I love about it. The designer has done them in their own way, a way that show’s it’s unique look and smooth feel to it.

This set of Icons conveys the social media message in a visual way because they are to the point. Just the image/logo and nothing else distracting to them.

As I analyzed some of the type in the social media logo’s I have noticed that the letters are much smoother and more round, for example the t representing the Tumblr logo.

Tumblr Icon:

TUMBLRICON

 

Original logo:

images

 

As you can see here, the actual Tumblr logo has more straight edges, rather then round smooth ones. (I personally like the Icon logo better)

Just to conclude, I feel that the designer of this Icon set has done an outstanding job. You can always tell how much effort a designer goes through to create wonderful designs.

Leave a comment